I have a dream

So today marks the 50th anniversary of Dr. King’s “I have a dream speech” and I know, as a black woman I should be excited about this.

I’m not.

As moving as his speech was, and the intent behind it all it does is make me sad. Sad that after all these years I feel like we still are far far far away from what Dr. King was talking about.
It’s 2013 and racism still is very much around. Little black boys and girls still can’t play with little white boys and girls. Not too long ago a little girl out with her father at a park we were playing at straight up told hubs and I that her mother said she wasn’t aloud to marry a black person. Her father said nothing.. And let’s not even bring up the Zimmerman case. It’s 2013 and instead of telling my son watch out because you could get hung because you are black, I get to tell him watch out because you could get shot only because you’re black… Not much has changed between the conversations each generation in my family has had to have since the speech.
You might question me because I happen to be married to a white guy, but what you don’t understand is the struggle it was to get here. To deal with prejudices on both sides of our family. To still have to really worry about rather hubs side of the family truly is gonna except lil and baby duck as one of their own. According to one person in that side “black people are up to something and we better watch out.” Told to my hubs at Christmas one year shortly after lil was born. Yes we were there. What the heck is that suppose to mean? And if he thinks like that is he going to be giving my kids and I the side eye every time we visit?
Dr. King preached about this dream of having this freedom, and equality, yet today I’m dreaming of that myself. To not be judged by the color of my skin. Just to have that would be a dream come true. For someone to actually have to get to know me before they decide rather or not they like me would be AMAZING! To be able to move to a nice neighborhood and not have the white lady send people down to check up on me to make sure I’m not gonna cause problems would be great.
yes this happened just last week Mrs. Rodriguez you get the side eye from me

So as great as his speech was as wonderful as this dream would be… We are not there yet. And all it’s done was left me to dream.

Dr. King’s I have a dream speech

4 thoughts on “I have a dream

  1. My sister don’t feel sad, the struggle will always be here. I believe in my heart that we will not see everything in our life time on this earth. Each day things are changing and we may or may not see it in the natural but believe me it is changing. The things we do now is what matters, it starts with every person to make a change. Who would of thought that we would even have a black President in the White House> I know I never thought it would be but we do . I wish my mother was alive to see the day that America has a Black President. There will always be a struggle rather it is with our nation or with ourselves.

    Anything worth having is worth fighting for.

  2. I get so upset when I see how you have been treated. We still have a long way to go. I am teaching my girls the hard truths that some friends are treated differently because of the color of their skin. They need to understand racism and prejudice so that they can call it out. I want them to be able to say that is not right and that is not acceptable.

Leave a Reply

