Chicken Soup

So I’ve been asked to share some of my canning recipes. I’m pretty excited to share. It will be my first time talking about how we do it. Now mind you I am in NO WAY an expert. This is just the way we do it. Many times we do refer to the Ball Canning website or our pressure cooker manual for: Times, and head spaces. I highly suggest using those resources when in doubt. Better safe than sorry we always say.
So chicken soup. Mind you this is just the soup part. There are no noodles, rice, cream or anything like that in this recipe. It’s recommended that you DO NOT put those things in any canning products. Which really works out because it makes it more versatile. You aren’t just stuck with chicken noodle soup. You can have that one day just by adding noodles. Then another day you can add rice and have a different meal, which is how my family likes to do things.
And it makes it easy so that even my hubs can make us dinner.

So my recipe. I don’t measure when I cook so I’m sorry a head of time. That’s why I’m a cooker NOT a baker. I to taste my seasonings. Lucky with this recipe there isn’t many seasonings. I didn’t want to over power the flavors since they are going to be sitting in their own juices for a while. And I rather add salt and things while I’m cooking it to eat. Don’t want to open the jar later and it be too salty.
Ok chicken was on sale so brought a huge pack of chicken leg quarters. If you want just white meat by all means use chicken breast, this is just what worked for our budget at the time.
I patted the chicken dry then added salt and pepper to both sides.

20131002-015002.jpg
In my big stock pot I added a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil EVOO Rachel Ray didn’t patent that did she? Once my pot was hot I placed the chicken skin side down in the pot.

20131002-015316.jpg
I got a nice crisp on both sides than took the chicken out and placed on a plate and put plate to the side. (No the chicken isn’t fully cooked this is just developing flavors) Once all my chicken was done I chopped an onion in half, chopped a carrot in large chunks, chopped celery in large chunks, and popped several garlic pieces open. Then I threw all of that (skins, peels and all) in the same pot I just cooked the chicken in.

20131002-015842.jpg
I placed the chicken on top of that. Don’t for get to dump the chicken juices off the plate in too. I went to my herb garden and got a few sage leaves, thyme sprigs, and dill leaves. I tied them together so it would be easy to fish out later and put it in the pot also.

20131002-020233.jpg
From there I filled up my pot with water, put a lid on, and let it cook on medium for a good half n hour.
-cooking time does vary depending on how much chicken you are cooking and the type of chicken. You want chicken to be cooked through. (160•F)

20131002-020621.jpg
Once chicken was done I took it out, drained my stock of the veggies and the herbs, then placed my stock in the fridge to cool so it would be easy to remove the fat. While it cooled I sanitized my jars. We use the dishwasher but you do it how it’s best for you. If you aren’t sure, please refer to the Ball canning website. Once the broth was cooled we got rid of the extra fat. You know that congealed white stuff at the top, and started to bring the stock back up to a boil. We chopped onions, carrots, and celery and put them in the jars.

20131002-021325.jpg
I had already de-skinned and de-boned the chicken and chopped that into chunks, so I added that to the top of the jars. I poured the boiling stock on top and proceeded with your regular canning procedure. My hubs helped out because my ligament pain had fully kicked in by this point and mama needed a break. The cool thing in my family is that we ALL enjoy doing this, including my 2 year old son. This is an EXCELLENT learning experience for him.

20131002-021939.jpg

20131002-022001.jpg

20131002-022018.jpg
don’t forget to wipe the jars with a paper towel dipped in vinegar to get rid of any fat on the tops of the jars

20131002-022239.jpg
All you do next is process them in your pressure cooker according to your pressure cooker manual. For us it was 90 mins at 11 pounds of pressure.
Once done, remember to let your pressure cooker de-pressurize itself. Before removing lid. Jars and steam will be hot, so be careful. Set jars on a towel in a non drafty area for 24 hours.
After 24 hours check and make sure lids are sealed.
Two things- the liquid will be a darker color in the jar than it was before you canned it. That is normal. 2- the jars will be oily. I wiped them all down with soapy water before I stored them.

20131002-022924.jpg
So now you have your own yummy chicken soup that you know what’s in it. These soups will last you for a year. Even though for my family we will have eaten it before then.
I hope I helped you. Please feel free to drop me a line with any advice. I’m not an expert and love to learn your recipes and techniques because they may be better than mine. Good luck and Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

